Inside the Madness

I believe I have not talked about what it is exactly that I do at work since I started working at a nursing home. I’m not talking about position, or job description, duties, whatever, I’ve written about those. Just the regular day-in, day-out stuff. That I haven’t.

I also don’t believe I’ll just start to all of a sudden now. It’s just I have always been scared, because people keep scaring the shit out of me and I do believe it is something to be scared of, of HIPAA and the likes. Although, of course, I believe in what it stands for which is the right to privacy of everyone involved. Anyway, I don’t know, I’m just ranting now.

I work under the Social Services department. I have had three titles since being in the field. PRSA for a couple of months before being promoted to PRSC for a little over a year, and finally BMC, after getting hired at another facility. Different positions, different responsibilities, but my main function throughout was pretty much the same.

I deal with a certain population and because of this, as we would always say, there is never a dull moment. This particular day is one of my craziest so far. We had a resident admitted and discharged within, I would say, a three-hour window. It was just one of those times when after work you go home and think to yourself, “what the hell just happened?”

I wish I could say more, but it’s just in my nature to not to I guess, if that even made sense. I will say this, it went as far as getting the police involve, or firemen, or both, I cannot really remember.

Regardless how unearthly insane my days go, I loved every second of it. If I knew what was going to happen before it even did, I’ll do them just the same.

August 17, 2015

Day 179 of PROJECT EFFERVESCENCE

Leave a Reply

